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WATER WELL DRILLING AND PUMP INSTALLATION CONTRACTORS

Re: Enrolled Act No. 58, Water Well Drillers and Pump Installers Licensure

Dear Water Well Drilling and/or Pump Installation Contractor:

This letter is to inform you that the Fifty-ninth Legislature of the State of Wyoming recently
passed legislation requiring all water well drilling contractors and pump installation contractors to
be licensed beginning July 1, 2008.

LICENSE REQUIRED BY JULY 1, 2008

As provided by the Enrolled Act, “It shall be unlawful for any person to construct, alter or
rehabilitate a water well or install pumping equipment in a water well without a license as
provided by this act unless the activity is exempted from the licensing requirements of this act”
(W.S. 33-42-103(f)).

The initial license shall be for a period not to exceed three (3) years and shall expire on the third
December 3 1% after receiving the initial license. Each subsequent license shall be valid for three
(3) calendar years and shall expire on December 3 1% of the third year.

Any water well drilling or pump installation contractor not licensed by July 1, 2009 will be
required to take and pass Board-approved examinations.

WHO DOES LICENSING AFFECT?

All water well drilling contractors and water well pump installation contractors must be licensed
except those:
* Drilling an oil or gas well or installing a pump in an oil or gas well, where the oil and gas
well is permitted pursuant to W.S. 30-5-115;
* Installing a pump in a well on land owned by or leased to him or on which he is
employed on a regular basis;
* Drilling a monitor well that does not require a permit from the State Engineer;
e Drilling a well on land owned by him; or
* Operating drilling equipment or conducting other drilling or boring operations which do
not require a permit from the State Engineer to appropriate ground water (e.g., uranium
test holes).
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HOW DO I BECOME LICENSED?

There are four ways in which you can become licensed,;
1. Wyoming’s Voluntary Certification Program,
2. the Grandfather Clause,
3. through Reciprocity with other states, or
4. Licensing by examination.

1. WYOMING’S VOLUNTARY CERTIFICATION PROGRAM

Resident Contractors

The Act provides that “Any Wyoming water well drilling contractor or water well pump
installation contractor certified pursuant to W.S. 33-42-101 through 33-42-111 by June 30, 2009,
shall be exempt from oral or written examination requirements pursuant to W.S. 33-42-108 and
33-42-1107.

If you are certified under Wyoming’s voluntary certification program, you have already met the
requirements for certification, and paid your application fee and the examination fee (for the
Wyoming Specific Exam). To become licensed, you must:
e Be a Wyoming contractor; and
e  Submit the $200 license fee (made payable to the Water Well Board). Please note, the
license is valid during three calendar years and expires on December 31* of the third
year.

Your Wyoming certification will then be replaced with a Wyoming license.

Non-Resident Contractors

If you are not a Wyoming contractor, but are certified under Wyoming’s voluntary certification
program, you are at least 18 years old, have provided evidence of coverage under a general
liability insurance policy in an amount of not less than $300,000.00, provided proof of legal
presence in the United States, paid your application fee and examination fee (for the Wyoming
Specific Exam), and met the examination requirements of Wyoming’s mandatory licensing
program (i.e., two exams (a General Exam and Specialized Category Exam), administered by the
National Ground Water Association or other entity approved by the Board and the Wyoming
Specific Exam. To become licensed, you must:
e  Submit the $200 license fee (made payable to the Water Well Board). Please note, the
license is valid during three calendar years and expires on December 31 of the third
year.

Your Wyoming certification will then be replaced with a Wyoming license.

Please note that if you wish to be licensed as both a water well drilling contractor and a water
well pump installation contractor, they are two separate and distinct licenses. Therefore you
must submit two sets of affidavit forms, two application fees, and two license fees.

2. GRANDFATHER CLAUSE

The Act includes a “grandfather clause” (W.S. 33-42-112. Exemptions) which states, “Upon
submitting satisfactory evidence to the board, any person who has been actively engaged as a



water well drilling contractor or a water well pump installation contractor in the state of
Wyoming for the five (5) years prior to July 1, 2008 shall be exempt from the oral or written
examination requirements pursuant to W.S. 33-42-108 and 33-42-110 until June 30, 2009.
Satisfactory evidence may include written affidavits from three (3) individuals competent to attest
to the applicant’s professional work experience”.

If you are a water well drilling contractor or a water well pump installation contractor, and have
five years of experience drilling and/or installing pumps in Wyoming prior to July 1, 2008, you
will be licensed if you:
e Are at least 18 years old;
e Provide evidence of coverage under a general liability insurance policy in an amount of
not less than $300,000.00;
Provide proof of legal presence in the United States;
e  Submit three completed affidavit forms from individuals that can attest to your
professional work experience (form enclosed), signed and sworn to before a Notary
Public;
e Submit the applicable application form and fee (form enclosed) made payable to the
Water Well Board
o $25.00 for residents, or
o $100.00 for non-residents; and
e Submit the $200 license fee (made payable to the Water Well Board). Please note, the
license is valid during three calendar years and expires on December 31* of the third
year.

Please note that if you wish to be licensed as both a water well drilling contractor and a water
well pump installation contractor, they are two separate and distinct licenses. Therefore you
must submit two sets of affidavit forms, two application fees, and two license fees.

3. RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES

W.S. 33-42-114. Reciprocity, states that “If a person holding a license entitling him to drill
water wells or install pumping equipment in another state applies for a Wyoming water well
drilling contractor’s or water well pump installation contractor’s license, if the other state offers
reciprocity, and if the board determines the standards and requirements of the state in which the
applicant is licensed are equal to or exceed the standards or requirements of this act, the board
may waive the examination requirements except the applicant shall successfully complete an
examination based on Wyoming statutes and rules relating to the drilling of water wells or
installation of pump equipment. The applicant shall also pay all applicable fees.”

It is your responsibility to contact the state in which you are already licensed to see if they will
offer reciprocity with Wyoming. If they do, you must:
e Submit the applicable application form and fee (form enclosed) made payable to the
Water Well Board
o $25.00 for residents, or
o $100.00 for non-residents;
Submit the $25 examination fee (for the Wyoming Specific Exam); and
e  Submit the $200 license fee (made payable to the Water Well Board). Please note, the
license is valid during three calendar years and expires on December 31* of the third
year.



Please note that if you wish to be licensed as both a water well drilling contractor and a water
well pump installation contractor, they are two separate and distinct licenses. Therefore you
must submit two sets of affidavit forms, two application fees, and two license fees.

4. LICENSING BY EXAMINATION

You may become licensed by examination. To become licensed you must:

e Be at least 18 years old;

e Have a general working knowledge of well construction and/or pump installation
procedures through certification by the NGWA in the branch or discipline for which
licensure is being requested, or proof of having successfully completed a general and at
least one specialty exam administered by NGWA or other entity approved by the Board;

e  Submit the $25 examination fee and successfully take and pass the Wyoming Specific
Exam';

e Provide evidence of coverage under a general liability insurance policy in an amount of
not less than $300,000.00;

e Provide proof of legal presence in the United States;

e  Submit the applicable application form and fee (form enclosed) made payable to the
Water Well Board

o $25.00 for residents, or
o $100.00 for non-residents; and

e  Submit the $200 license fee (made payable to the Water Well Board). Please note, the
license is valid during three calendar years and expires on December 3 1* of the third
year.

Please note that if you wish to be licensed as both a water well drilling contractor and a water
well pump installation contractor, they are two separate and distinct licenses. Therefore you

must submit two sets of affidavit forms, two application fees, and two license fees.

HOW DO I RENEW MY LICENSE?

In order to be eligible to renew a license, a licensed water well drilling contractor or water well
pump installation contractor shall:

e Complete eighteen (18) hours professional competence hours in three (3) years,

e Submit payment of all applicable fees, and

e Comply with all requirements under W.S. 33-42-111(a).

If a licensed water well drilling contractor or water well pump installation contractor does not
submit an application for license renewal prior to the December 3 1* expiration date or does not
remit the renewal fees, the license shall expire. The contractor shall have a thirty-one (31) day
grace period to renew the expired license. If the license has not been renewed before February 1%
of the new license period, it shall not be eligible for reinstatement until the applicant has met all
the requirements of W.S. 33-42-108 (including taking and passing a general exam, one specialty
exam, and the Wyoming Specific Exam).

! please contact the State Engineer’s Office at (307) 777-5063 for copies of applicable rules and
regulations on which the Wyoming Specific Exam is based.



WHAT DO 1 DO WITH MY LICENSE?

A copy of the license of a licensed water well drilling licensee or water well pump installation
licensee overseeing the job and assuming liability for the water well drilling or water well pump
installation shall be conspicuously posted at the water well drilling or water well pump
installation site.

WHERE DO I FIND MORE INFORMATION?

The following documents are available on the State Engineer’s website at
http://seo.state.wy.us/ on the Ground Water Division’s web page.

Chapter 42, Water Well Drilling Contractors and Water Well Pump Installation
Contractors

Enrolled Act No. 58, “Water well drilling and pump installation licensure”
Wyoming Water Well Drilling Contractors and Water Well Pump Installation
Contractors Rules and Regulations (July 12, 2004)

The application form for licensing

The affidavit form for licensing

If you have any questions, please call me at (307) 777-5063.

Sin

ely,

Lisa Lindemann, Administrator
Ground Water Division

Enclosures



